Welcome to the Guardians CCG Page

This is a site dedicated to the Guardians collectible card game released by FPG in the mid '90s. This was a great game featuring beautiful artwork and a complex battle system. The game is now out of print and some cards are extremely difficult to find.

Here you will find alternate rules and game mods (including solo play), homebrew cards, and links to other Guardians sites.

Search This Blog

Thursday, April 26, 2012

Celestial Battlefield Card #16: Vengeance


(x, why?) said...

Not that this needs to go on the card (or maybe it does?) but when you discard from the top of your draw deck, do you start with the Up card, or the card under it?

There are other cards that force discards, but they've been in the basement so long I don't remember the specifics.

Jackalwere said...

I should state it excludes upcards, but the text just won't fit. The reason I avoided upcards is because you have to draw a new one, which you can then see what you are discarding...if you discard from the top of the deck, unless you've peeked with another card effect (Control Destiny?) you won't know what you are discarding.

It was meant to be a trade-off...you can discard cards in play, losing a resource in play but knowing what you are losing; or you can discard from your deck without sacrificing cards already in play, hoping it's not anything important.

I consider the upcard to be separate from the draw deck, but maybe I'm wrong. OTOH, looking at a card like Assassin of Shadow, it targets an opposing draw deck, allowing you to discard a creature from it, and then the deck is reshuffled. It makes no mention of upcards and I think that is done on purpose, which is what I'm trying to accomplish. I hope that makes sense.